Eleven Hopkins scholars recognized at virtual 2021 Caring Youth Awards

Several Hopkins students were honored at the Caring Youth Awards on March 11. The annual event, held virtually due to COVID-19, celebrates youth in the community who have given outstanding service to organizations in the area.

This year, 17 students were honored for their selfless service to their community — eleven of them from Hopkins Public Schools.

“Our future is in good hands,” said Molly Cummings, Metropolitan council member. “For no reason, other than it’s the right thing to do, these caring youth are doing amazing work in many different organizations.”

Civic and service organizations, schools, and faith community members in Golden Valley, Hopkins and Minnetonka communities nominated the recipients. The Caring Youth Recognition event is a collaborative effort among the cities of Hopkins, Golden Valley, and Minnetonka, the Minnetonka and Hopkins school districts, and the Glen Lake Optimists of Minnetonka.

2021 Hopkins Caring Youth recipients

Elliot Berman, Hopkins School Board
Jeffrey Vang, Hopkins North Junior High
George Jackson, Hopkins Schools
Sophie Yakes, Gethsemane Lutheran Church
Evyn Bishop, ResourceWest
Kira Cox, City of Minnetonka
Paige Kahle, myHealth
Laurel Cox, City of Minnetonka
Dorothea Watson, Mentorship
Molly Enzler, Hopkins High School
Mitchell Dolynchuk, Spirit of Peace Church
Liv Steen, Hopkins School District
Jasmine Lee, ICA Food shelf
Vivi Gonzalez, ICA Food shelf
Genavieve Billiet, ICA Food shelf
Molly Welch, ICA Food shelf
Jackson Sinykin, ICA Food shelf

*Names in bold are from Hopkins Public Schools.